Call To Action: Fight The Famine

The four seasons

Somalia is mostly dry and semi-arid with the exception of few areas of greenery in the northern mountains or the riverine agricultural fields in the south. The main long rainy season (gu) from April to June is followed by a dry season (xagaa) from July to September, which is in turn followed by a shorter rainy season (deyr) from October to November, and the main dry season (jilaal) from December to March completes the seasonal cycle. In parts of northwestern Somalia, the xagaa dry season is replaced by the karan rainy season.